2016 CASL Award Recipients

The following are recipients of this year's CASL awards:



Administrator's Award

Outstanding support of 

school library programs

Barbara Gilbert

Director of Teaching and Learning

Colchester Public School District

Colchester, CT

Gene Schmidt


Cos Cob School

Greenwich, CT

"Bunny" Yesner School Library Media Program of the Year

Barbara Johnson

Library Media Program

Jack Jackter Intermediate School

Colchester, CT

Carlton Erikson Award

Auspicious beginning in media services

Katherine Tietjen

East Hampton High School

East Hampton, CT

Carolyn Biega O'Neill Memorial Scholarship

Karen M. Pfeffer

Southern CT State University

Follett Creativity Award

Stephanie Shteirman

Heat Transfer Scratch Project

Harborside Middle School

Milford, CT

Hilda and John Jay Award

Significant contribution to the library media field on the local, state and national level

Janice Pellegrino

Library Media Specialist

Joseph A. Foran High School

Milford, CT

Pellerin Classroom Teacher Award

Establishing an instructional partnership with a Library Media Specialist

Francesca Caruso

English Teacher

The Gilbert School

Winsted, CT

Rheta A. Clark Award

Outstanding service as a Library Media Specialist

Mary Ellen Minichiello

Library Media Specialist

Calf Pen Meadow School

Milford, CT

Irene Kwidzinski Service Award

Outstanding service to the Connecticut Association of School Librarians

Martha Djang

Library Media Specialist

Hamden Hall Country Day School

Hamden, CT




4 Wotton Lane • Burlington, CT • 06013• 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software